//
you're reading...
Random

Music Is My Aeroplane

Here are a two songs that have really stuck with me over the years.

  1. Metallica – Bleeding Me

I’m digging my way
I’m digging my way to something
I’m digging my way to something better

I’m pushing to stay
I’m pushing to stay with something
I’m pushing to stay with something better

I’m sowing the seeds
I’m sowing the seeds I’ve taken
I’m sowing the seeds I take for granted

This thorn in my side
This thorn in my side is from the tree
This thorn in my side is from the tree I’ve planted

It tears me and I bleed
And I bleed

Caught under wheels’ roll
I take the leech, I’m bleeding me
Can’t stop to save my soul
I take the leash that’s leading me
I’m bleeding me
I can’t take it
Caught under wheels’ roll
The bleeding of me
Of me
The bleeding of me

I am the beast that feeds the feast
I am the blood, I am release

Come make me pure
Bleed me a cure
I’m caught, I’m caught, I’m caught under

Caught under wheels’ roll
I take that leech, I’m bleeding me
Can’t stop to save my soul
I take the leash that’s leading me
I’m bleeding me
I can’t take it
I can’t take it
I can’t take it
The bleeding of me

I’m digging my way
I’m digging my way to something
I’m digging my way to something better

I’m pushing to stay
I’m pushing to stay with something
I’m pushing to stay with something better
With something better

To me this song is about the dark, desperate times in our lives and serves as a reminder of how we arrived at that place. With good intention we sow the seeds in hope of a bountiful harvest but instead we get thorn bushes which come back later to hurt us.  It is so easy to blame someone else for our troubles but is the choices we have made leading up to that time that have put us on the path to this dark time. No matter how much we don’t like it or want to believe it, there is only one person to blame and only one person who can change the direction of their life, themselves.

Take the leash and make a better life for yourself, no one else can.

2. The Wombats – 1996

I had no cares in the 1990s,
I knew of no downfalls,
Though war was breaking out all around me,
My concerns were with prank calls.

She kissed me on the cheek,
She kissed me on the cheek,
Right in front of the older kids,
When our self belief, our self belief,
Wasn’t scarred by the modern itch.

‘Cause now it feels like,

We kiss with one eye on our T.V. set,
And the more I give, the less I get,
Needing fairground rides just to spark her smile,
There’s little here to miss,
Bring back 1996
Bring back 1996,
So hard to beat those teenage kicks,
Bring back 1996.

We were cloning sheep in the 1990s,
We were building telescopes,
And sugar filled the whole of my body,
As I urged it on to grow.

I kissed her on the cheek,
I kissed her on the cheek,
Just to impress the older kids,
But my self belief, my self belief,
Wasn’t lost in the modern glitch.

‘Cause now it feels like,

We kiss with one eye on our T.V. set,
And the more I give, the less I get,
Needing fairground rides just to spark her smile,
There’s little here to miss,
Bring back 1996,
Bring back 1996.

Stop talking, stop talking,
I need a lover, not a friend tonight,
I’m leaving, I’m leaving,
I’m not cut out for the modern life.

I’ll never beat those teenage kicks [x3]
Bring back 1996

What a song? I finished high school in 1996 and what a year. Last year of high school with the endless possibilities. Falling in love for the first time, you always remember your first love no matter how painful it ends up as was in my case. So many good things happened in those years. Music was at its peak with Nirvana, Stone Temple Pilots, Offspring, Soundgarden. The Ren and Stimpy Show cartoons. Life was certainly so much simpler, no mobile phones and little responsibilities.

I’m sure I’m not the only person to do this but here it goes.

Do you assign music to a particular person you know or think about?

I like listening to music more than I do watching television, the music and lyrics speak to myself more than I could ever get out of watching a TV show or movie.  Listening to a particular song will make myself think about a person, different songs evoke different feelings and therefore I’ll think about different people. I don’t seem to ever have two people to the one song though, sometimes I’ll listen to a song and won’t think of anyone. But mostly I’ll just sing along and drift off with the enjoyment of my fav songs.

About My random thoughts

I'm on a journey of self discovery to find my why. More specifically finding my passion, that one thing that will keep you up late and get you up early in the morning. The journey has long been under way but has only just begun in earnest. I started this blog in conjunction the the Live Your Legend blog challenge as a way of finding my why. If you would like to follow my journey please do.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

